Grilled Sriracha and Garlic Yogurt Marinated Skinless and Boneless Chicken Thighs

I always thought that I hated chicken thighs, why you ask? Well it was probably the fatty skin that covers the chicken thigh, like a smothering blanket of grease and unwanted gelatinous texture. You ever let a tray of chicken thighs sit in a Pyrex dish over night, lets just say its not joy that forms at the bottom of that pan. So when I found these beautifully cut chicken thighs without the bone (gasp!) or the skin (yeah!) I was overjoyed; while I know I may be late on finding this chicken thigh option, please let me have my Happy, Happy, Joy, Joy moment. So I looked at these glorious pieces of meat that are usually easy enough to cook and already a tender cut of meat as is and I decided to kick it up a notch. I seasoned the thighs with salt, pepper, dill, garlic powder and Herb de Provence. Once the chicken was all seasoned up I placed it in a quart size zip-lock bag to sit while I mixed the yogurt mixture. The yogurt you use just needs to be plain; I repeat it just needs to be plain. I don’t care about brands or organic vs. conventional, Greek vs. Regular etc. The stuff needs to be plain yogurt. In a bowl mix a cup of plain yogurt and 5-8 tablespoons of Sriracha (depends on how much spice you like) and 4 cloves of garlic or 3 tablespoons of garlic powder. Once the mixture is good and mixed pour over the chicken thighs in the bag and marinate in the fridge for up to 12 hours. If you have left over marinade it can be used for dressing for salads. Once the marinating period is over remove the chicken  and place on your outdoor grill or for my apartment dwellers, your grill pan. Grill until juices run clear from the chicken; be sure to use tongs so you don’t pierce the chicken too much. While the chicken is grilling squeeze lemon juice over it and repeat again once its removed from the grill. Plate your chicken however you like, I like to place sliced lemons around the plate and chop fresh herbs for the top. Serve this dish with a salad or couscous. Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

