The Best Chili

Chili is one of those foods you either love or hate. Growing up in the Midwest for part of my childhood we often ate chili. However, the chili we ate was modeled after “Cincinnati Chili” a mix of chili on top of Spaghetti noodles with cheese or onions but most definitely oyster crackers. I still have fond memories of this chili; but have graduated to omitting the oyster crackers and spaghetti.

Chili is one of those foods that can transform into numerous other meals throughout the week. A pot of chili can become tomorrows tacos or top a pan of enchiladas. You can freeze it as well and eat it weeks later and it still taste just as good or better than the day you made it. For this chili I use a mix of meats, I tend to go for the meat loaf trifecta of beef, veal and pork. I use this mix because it just taste better and yields a uniquely smooth chili without huge meat chunks; such is the issue with beef at times. I mix with the usual suspects; such as garlic, onions, red pepper, green pepper, chili flakes, chili powder, cayenne pepper and a special Goya seasoning  featured below.

I know your thinking about the sodium here.. Look its high but I guarantee this Chili will blow your mind; what’s one day of high blood pressure. I add in my liquids in a medium to large size pot; crushed tomatoes, tomato sauce and drum roll please…..Enchilada sauce.. Something about this sauce just nails this chili, I think it’s the extra spice that the sauce has in it that tops this chili off. I add in my seasoned meat with cooked onions and peppers and one to two cups of black beans. Let this chili cook on low for an hour in a half; if you can wait that long (smile). This recipe can be made in a crock pot as well. Serve with cheese, sour cream or yogurt, and chopped chives. Enjoy!

List:

  • Meat Loaf Mix
  • Garlic
  • Onion
  • Red Pepper
  • Green Pepper
  • Chili Flakes and Powder
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Goya Sazon Seasoning
  • Crushed Tomatoes
  • Tomato Sauce
  • Enchilada Sauce
  • Black Beans , Kidney Beans or Pinto Beans
  • Cheese
  • Sour Cream or  Plain Greek Yogurt
  • Chives
Leave a Reply

