You Want Pancakes With Those Berries…

So some Saturdays I wake up with a hankering for good old pancakes. I know how to make homemade pancakes but sometimes that’s just too much effort. When I feel lazy but want to eat a decadent and healthy treat I turn to my trusty box of Kodiak Cakes- Power Cake Flapjack and Waffle mix. I not only love this mix because of its protein power; 14 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber; not to mention its also whole grain and it taste amazing. You only have to add water until you get the consistency of your choice; thicker or thinner pancakes. They cook up quickly and you can top with your choice of classic maple syrup and butter or a quick fruit compote, as seen in the picture above. I like to freeze berries such as strawberries, blueberries, raspberries or blackberries in the summer  during their peak time for winter time treats. I put my berry mixes in little freezer bags that I can quickly pull out and throw in a pan with a little butter and agave syrup. The finished product is a glossy and delicious and fruity compote that wonderfully compliments those protein cakes. The great thing is no one has to know that the pancakes they are eating are actually healthy and will keep them fuller longer than traditional cakes (the protein); so get your griddles hot and get cooking! enjoy!

List:

  • Power Cakes Pancake Mix
  • Butter or Oil
  • Berry of your Choice
  • Agave Syrup
  • Maple Syrup
Leave a Reply

