“Buffalo” Style Cauliflower

I have to admit there is no replacing the spicy, fatty, goodness of a well done Buffalo Wing. I love nothing better than getting my place at the bar and ordering up wings and beer; its combination made in heaven. However, I have wanted to be more health conscious as of late and found out that I could recreate that heaven with a healthier alternative. Behold the great vegetable of disguise; the cauliflower. While humble and quite sturdy it can hold up to any form of cooking and easily be pureed into silky creaminess.

I found that for me the cauliflower yielded itself as a perfect sacrificial “lamb” for a quick substitute for chicken. This recipe is super simple and quick; all you need is a head of cauliflower, your preferred spice mixture (I list my preferred mixture below) and a large plastic bag. Heat your oven to 380 degrees and cut your cauliflower to your preferred size. Get your plastic bag and empty the contents of your preferred spice mixture into the bag with half a cup of apple cider vinegar, 1/4 tsp. fish sauce  and a 1/4 cup olive oil or butter. I like to use a spice mix that calls for:

  • 1-2 tbsp. Garlic Powder
  • 1tbsp Onion Powder
  • 1 tsp. Chinese Five Spice
  • 1/2 cup hot sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. Gochujang Sauce (Ketchup can be an alternate)
  • 1 tsp. salt

Once your spice mix is in the bag, simply throw in the cauliflower and let marinate 10-15 minutes depending on how intense you want the spice to be. Place cauliflower on a oiled baking pan and place in oven to make for 30 minutes or until fork tender. Serve these yummy treats hot with your choice of dipping sauce, blue cheese or ranch.

List:

  • Cauliflower
  • Hot Sauce
  • Onion Powder
  • Garlic Powder
  • Gochujang Sauce or Ketchup
  • Fish Sauce
  • Chinese Five Spice
  • Salt
  • Olive Oil
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Erica says:

    Yum! Can’t wait to try this recipe

    Like

    1. Erica I hope you enjoy it

      Like

  2. Sheena B says:

    Cant wait to try this!

    Like

    1. Thank you I hope u enjoy it

      Like

  3. Tira Faison says:

    I really enjoyed this recipe, of course, I was very lucky to have it made by your hands. I have to make it myself now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

