Scallops with Pistachio Soy Wasabi Butter and Shaved Fennel

Its Summer; and there is something about the season that makes me desire a lighter way of eating. The produce is fresh, the weather is warmer and the remarriage of crisp vegetables and light protein sources once again occurs. During the warmer season I rely on sources of seafood; particularly the sturdy mollusk better known as a scallop. The recipe above was created during a time when I was experimenting with different Asian flavors and one night I pretty much dreamed up this quick and easy recipe.

To create this beauty you need a food processor or a good old fashioned mortar and pestle; that is if you prefer to manually grind up your pistachio soy wasabi butter ingredients. The butter is basically a stick of butter, 1/4 cup of pistachios chopped, 1 tablespoons of soy sauce, 2 Garlic cloves, 1 teaspoon sesame oil, 2 teaspoons of wasabi (powder or paste); mix these all together and your done with your butter. The butter can be stored up to 3-5 days in the refrigerator.

Now we move on to the fennel; I love the taste of fennel because it basically taste like vegetable licorice, don’t let that scare you, its really good and to me its like a palate cleanser for this dish. I sauté the shaved fennel bulb in butter until soft and set it aside so I can move on to the scallops. If you recall in my earlier post I explained the proper way to cook a scallop, remember:

  • A hot pan (lightly oiled)
  • Dry scallops (dry scallops thoroughly with paper towel)
  • 2 to 3 minutes on each side depending on scallop size

Now we move onto plating; my absolute favorite part. I get to combine my love of balance, art and harmony in my food presentation. For this dish place a dried seaweed square in the middle of a plate and place scallops on top. Then place fennel towards the back of the scallops. Now top your scallops (still hot) with the butter and sprinkle crumbled dried seaweed on top and serve!

List:

  • Butter
  • Pistachios
  • Soy Sauce
  • Garlic Cloves
  • Wasabi Powder
  • Sesame Oil
  • Fennel
  • Scallops

 

 

Leave a Reply

