Spicy Chicken Sandwich

Behold the glorious Chicken sandwich! I am a lover of a good fried chicken sandwich and this one is a definite crowd pleaser. I tried to model the fried chicken patty, made from skinless and boneless chicken thighs lightly pounded out, after Korean Fried Chicken. The crisp almost candy coated crust that encapsulated this spicy and flavorful patty was a true party in the mouth.

I started by marinating the chicken thighs in a mixture of Gochujang Sauce, Chili Sauce, Smoked Paprika, Red Pepper and Vinegar. I kept the chicken in this mixture for about an hour and then removed it, lightly dusting it with red pepper, paprika and salt before plunging it into a mixture of flour and cornstarch. Season your cornstarch and flour mixture with salt, pepper, and some red pepper.

Now its time to get cooking, heat your selected frying oil before placing chicken in to fry. If you have a deep fryer, that’s even better. However I used a deep pan to fry these beauties. I used Vegetable Oil, however Canola would work as well. Fry chicken until juices run clear and /or thermometer reads 165 Fahrenheit. Place chicken on paper towel to drain.

Now prepare your toppings, I went basic and chose a little bit of Mayo and a little bit Gochujang sauce to top my chicken along with tomato and lettuce on a toasted brioche bun. It doesn’t matter how you top your chicken patty, I guarantee you will be happy with this quick and easy sandwich.

List

  • Skinless Boneless Chicken Thighs (4)
  • Vegetable Oil/ Canola Oil (for Frying)
  • 1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 2 tbsp.Gochujang Sauce
  • 2 tbsp. Chili Sauce (Sambal Oelek)
  • Mayonaisse (per preference)
  • 2 tsp Smoked Paprika
  • 1-2 tsp Red Pepper ( heat preference)
  • 1tsp Salt
  • 2 tbsp. Pepper
  • 1/2 cup Flour
  • 1/2 cup Cornstarch

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Tira says:

    This looks so great!!! Of course I don’t have any Gochujang sauce, is this a common item I can get from any grocer or do I need to go to Aldi’s?
    Oh, and what would happen if I subsitute breasts for thighs?

    Like

    1. Hello Tira
      Thanks for liking the post; you can find Gochujang at your local grocery store in the Asian food section or at an Asian Market. Let me know if you have trouble finding it. Enjoy!!!

      Like

    2. Secondly, I believe chicken breast would be a great substitute, let me know how it goes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

