Roasted Chickpea & Avocado Toast and Black Seaweed Pearls

Hello is anybody there? If you are I appreciate your absolute patience with me. Life has been throwing some absolute curveballs my way and I have had a hell of a time dodging them; but I am here and hopeful. So without further ado lets talk food! Chickpeas or Garbanzo beans whichever name you like to use are my absolute favorite legume. They are super versatile, healthy and filling. For this recipe I roast my chickpeas after rinsing them, yep I use canned ones, if you want to soak some you can but I like canned ones just fine. I line a baking sheet and oil it and then toss the peas in olive oil and warming spices such as harissa, curry, or Ras el hanout, whichever you prefer, this is a real choose your own adventure moment.

Roast chickpeas spread out on baking sheet for about 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees, take care to watch those peas to prevent burning, we want browning crispness, not steamed or burned peas. Right before the peas come out get ready to slice your avocado and toast your bread, any bread will do, but I prefer a hearty whole wheat. Now on to the extra flavor boost, the black seaweed pearls, also known as veggie caviar, I know you maybe doubting me here, but its really good. I too was a little hesitant about this little accoutrement but it was a winner; a little addition of actual caviar would work too. The addition of pearls or caviar provides salinity that is remarkable and cuts through the richness of the peas and avocado.

Now onto assembly, if you want to you can spread a little butter or mayo on your toast and then place your avocado, the peas and seaweed pearls. Now you could stop here and eat or you could dress it up and add a little arugula and a sprinkle of truffle oil as I did. I love making open faced sandwiches more formally known as tartines because your imagination can run wild and almost anything goes. So I urge you to be creative and have fun. I wish you all good eats in the near future.

List:

  • 1 can or 1 cup Garbanzo Beans
  • Two Slices Wheat Bread
  • 1 Avocado (Sliced)
  • Two Teaspoons Black Seaweed Pearls
  • 1 tsp Ras El Hanout or 1 tsp Harissa or 1 tsp Curry (whichever is preferred)
  • Salt to taste
  • Olive oil for Roasting Peas
  • Arugula for Garnish
  • Truffle oil for Garnish
  • Mayo or Butter for Toast (if desired)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sheena Neely says:

    Welcome back 🙂 Looks yummy!!!

    Like

Leave a comment